An Aquinian and Kierkegaard Complexion

images

Confounded.

I am always trying to figure out the ‘real issue,’ why things seem to be the way they are rather than another way. It is an occupational hazard for philosophers.

For example, I was asked at the Palm Sunday Mass if I would bring up the offering for the Liturgy of the Eucharist.  Now, usually a family takes the offering and gifts of bread and wine to the priest.  I wondered why I was asked; single persons do not reproduce in like manner as blessed loaves and fishes.

“By myself?” I asked.

I asked because I am the perfect candidate to be a striker for Kierkegaard, in a single chair hugging a wall in the back of the sanctuary. Don’t mind me; I like quietly following the liturgy in the Missal, thank you. So you’d be better off to find the “correct” configuration of per-sons to offer the fruits of man’s hands for the most wonderful, the most solemn, the most joy filled, and the most sacred action on this planet.

“On the contrary,” my Aquinian conscience says, “the Church is a family.” Oops.  This is the real issue. This includes me.  And you and you and you.

“Sure.” I will answer yes, amen, so be it, when Jesus’ Church calls.

All of us have a blessed Holy Week!

family-gifts

2 thoughts on “An Aquinian and Kierkegaard Complexion

Leave a Reply

