Thom-istic Bright Eye

Flannery

Mary Flannery O’Connor (March 25, 1925 – died of Lupus August 3, 1964)

“I couldn’t make any judgment on the Summa [Theologica], except to say this: I read it every night before I go to bed. If my mother were to come in during the process and say, “Turn off that light. It’s late,” I with lifted finger and broad, bland, beatific expression, would reply, “On the contrary, I answer that the light, being eternal and limitless, cannot be turned off.

‘Shut your eyes,’ ” or some such thing.  

In any case I feel I can personally guarantee that St. Thomas loved God because for the life of me I cannot help loving St. Thomas.”

 Flannery O’Connor, The Habit of Being

  • Wise Blood, 1952
  • The Violent Bear It Away, 1960

Short story collections

  • A Good Man Is Hard to Find, 1955
  • Everything That Rises Must Converge, 1965
  • The Complete Stories, 1971 —National Book Award

Other works

  • Mystery and Manners: Occasional Prose, 1969
  • The Habit of Being: Letters of Flannery O’Connor, 1979
  • The Presence of Grace: and Other Book Reviews, 1983
  • Flannery O’Connor: Collected Works, 1988
  • A Prayer Journal, edited by W. A. Sessions, Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2013
 
 Flannery O’Connor was unabashedly Catholic, and her writings are not for the wispy and  faint-hearted. It is unfortunate for me that it took a moral philosophy class for me to read, “A Good Man is Hard to Find.”  I recommend it to everyone as it is a short story and for its straightforward prompts to be mindful that we are as the grass, it is well worth the time.   Her works are thoughtful, very reflective, and can be quite emotional jarring- with the intent to wake up the un-Believer and shake the Be-liever to go to another level with God in Jesus Christ.  That said, I will find the time in 2014 to read at least one of Ms. O’Connor’s other works, if not more.  Rest in peace, sister Flannery, and may perpetual light shine upon you. 
While you are here, read why a Baptist preacher says all Christians need Flannery O’Connor:  http://religion.blogs.cnn.com/2013/12/15/why-christians-need-flannery-oconnor/ 
May your 2014 be full of spiritual growth! -Kassey

Flannery1aquinas poem

Leave a Reply

