Theology of the Movie Gravity: Evolution, Death and Teilhard de Chardin

I see the ISS as the Church..

Teilhard de Chardin

Note: Spoiler Alert below for the movie Gravity

Last weekend, I finally went to see the movie Gravity, one of the few times in the last ten years that I have seen a non-childrens’ movie in a theater. As I expressed earlier, I am largely ignorant of pop culture. I am glad I did as it was simply an outstanding movie, although I would highly recommend watching it in 3D for maximum effect. 

The fantastic blog Vox Nova provided an outstanding summary of the movie as well as some of its theological implications. My post is going to expand on Vox Nova’s discussion so I encourage you to read their post here. One big caveat: it is doubtful that the writer and director Alfonso Cuarón intended for the movie to have the theological themes set forth below. These interpretations are mine, although one does not have to reach…

View original post 1,269 more words

2 thoughts on “Theology of the Movie Gravity: Evolution, Death and Teilhard de Chardin

Leave a Reply

