The Most Livable City

     Saint Paul, God’s Apostle to the Gentiles, wrote 4 letters in prison – Ephesians- the “Captivity Epistle,” Colossians, Philippians and Philemon.   Scripture quotes are from the New American Bible (NAB).

                                Paul’s Preaching Language

Greetings: “Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.”   Philemon 1:3

Thanksgivings: “I give thanks to my God always, remembering you in my prayers.” Philemon 1:1

Teachings: “I urge you, brothers, in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ, that all agree in what you say, and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be united in the same mind and in the same purpose.” 1 Corinthians 1:10

Final Greetings: “My love to all of you in Christ Jesus.”  1 Corinthian 16:24

 Philippians 4:12, “I  know indeed how to live in humble circumstances; I know also how to live with abundance.  In every circumstance and in all things I have learned the secret of being well fed and of going hungry, of living in abundance and of being in need.  I have the strength for everything through Him who empowers me. 

 

His circumstances were often not ‘livable,’ yet Paul wrote some of his most powerful messages to us in prison, by the Grace of God.  Paul’s heart, full of the Truth of the Gospel, transformed his unlivable sufferings into the livable peace and joy of the Lord.  

  A painting of ‘Paul the Apostle’  by Rembrandt.

rembrandt-apostle-paul

st paul livable

 Livable?   I wonder what Paul would have thought about 32 degrees below zero, snow, ice!

snow covered house

usa-minnesota-saint-paul-skyline

St. Paul, Minnesota- “The city originally began at present-day Lambert’s Landing, but was known as Pig’s Eye after Pierre “Pig’s Eye” Parrant established a popular tavern there. When Fr.Lucien Galtier, the first Catholic pastor of the region, established the Log Chapel of Saint Paul (shortly thereafter to become the first location of the Cathedral of Saint Paul), he made it known that the settlement was now to be called by that name, as “Saint Paul as applied to a town or city was well appropriated, this monosyllable is short, sounds good, it is understood by all Christian denominations.” www. wikipedia.org, “St Paul Minnesota,” accessed 9/2/13.

I lived in St Paul for two years and visited the Cathedral of St Paul, which is quite beautiful:

st paul

St Kates

St Catherine University in St Paul, where I attended for two years.  For the beauty and intellectual treasures all around me, plus living right across the street, it felt like I was in heaven!

st paul fun fact

st-paul-conversion

Paul-icon

st paul downtown

Thank you Paul the Apostle, for  teaching  the evangelion, the Gospel of God in Asia Minor.  Your life was a testimony to the words in Hebrews 11:10, “For he [Abraham] was looking forward to the city with foundations, whose architect and maker is God.”  In your heavenly city, please pray for the Church worldwide and our faithful witness to  the Gospel of Christ to all cities and nations.   We ask this through Christ our Lord, Amen

2 thoughts on “The Most Livable City

  1. Paul’s prison letters are, indeed, inspirational.

    Great post, Kassey. I can tell you put a great amount of time into this with the pictures and all.

    St. Paul looks like a nice place, though it would be too cold for me I think. Did you know I wear snow pants around the house in the winter time here?

    The most livable city is one that I look forward to being in one day. There will be a new heaven and a new earth. There will be no more tears or pain. Won’t that be nice?

    God’s blessings…

    Like

  2. Hi Chris, no I did not know that, but I know most Arkansans would not care for Minn’s winters. They are harsh, but I had been in Michigan as you know, so for me it was familiar.

    This one one did take a few nites to put up, mostly because I’m still getting used to the dashboard and picture buttons. Positioning and sizing the pictures has been the most difficult thing to get a hang of..

    And did you know the Mississippi runs up to St Paul? don’t hold me to it, but I think it stops there.

    and boy yes, do I long for that City. But while we wait, I love Paul’s writings, they give so much hope.

    again, thanks for stopping by and blessings! Kassey

    Like

Leave a Reply

